Professional Learning


The Association provides professional learning workshops for individuals, departments, and schools interested in incorporating the community of inquiry pedagogy into their teaching programs. Teachers wishing to expand and refine their skills are invited to enrol in the FAPSA Certificate course – Introduction to Philosphical Community of Inquiry. This two day professional development training equips teachers to begin using philosophical inquiry within their classroom. For more information, see our 2023 Professional Learning Flyer: Click Here

For teachers who wish to further develop their skill set beyond the Introductory workshops, please consider the Advanced Practice workshops. The program of FAPSA workshops for 2023 can be found below. 

To build upon the above foundation, further bespoke workshops can be tailored to the needs of your school. Previously we have delivered courses such as an after school introduction to philosophical inquiry or a half day/whole day school professional development day. Specific programs can be presented such as how to incorporate inquiry into curriculum planning days, or how to embed concepts into Key Learning Areas such as Mathematics or Literacy. All Philosophy in Schools NSW workshops are presented by FAPSA-accredited Teacher Educators. A list of NSW accredited Teacher Educators is provided below.

All 2023 workshops listed below will be held at the Centre for Critical Thinking and Ethics, Petersham NSW.

Term 1

Intro workshop – Saturdays Feb 25, March 4 (9:00-3:00)

Intro workshop (mid week: Mondays 13 and 20 February 12:00-5:00)

Intro workshop (mid week: Thursdays 9 and 16 March 12:00-5:00)

Term 3

Intro workshop – Saturdays  July 22 & 29 (9:00-3:00)

Intro workshop (midweek: Tuesdays 15 and 22 August 12:00-5:00)

Term 4

Advanced Practice 2 (Knowledge) – Saturday October 14 (9:00-3:00)

Intro workshop (midweek: Wednesdays 25 October and 1 November 12:00-5:00)

Bespoke workshops can be arranged – please get in touch via

To book:

FAPSA Accredited Teacher Educators (Classroom Practitioner):

  • Jennifer Edwards – Education Consultant
  • Kate Kennedy White – Associate Director, Centre for Critical Thinking and Ethics – Wyvern House, Newington College
  • Dan Muir-Smith – Principal – Leichhardt Public School
  • Janine Timillero – Head of Professional Growth, Newington College 

FAPSA Accredited Teacher Educators (Philosopher & Classroom Practitioner):

  • Dr Britta Jensen – Co-director, Centre for Critical Thinking and Ethics, Newington College
  • Associate Professor Matthew Del Nevo – Dean of Sydney College of Divinity (part time) and secondary teacher

Here is a list of NSW schools whose teachers have been trained through the Association:

Abbotsleigh Junior School
Barker College
Bondi Public School
Burwood Girls High School
Callaghan College
CBHS Lewisham
Central West Leadership Academy
Christian Brothers’ High School Lewisham
Department of Education (Nimbin Central School)
Emanuel School
International Grammar School
Islamic College of Brisbane
James Ruse Agricultural High School
John Therry Catholic College
Karabar High School, Queanbeyan
Kincoppal-Rose Bay
Kinross Wolaroi School
Knox Grammar School
Leichhardt Public School
Loreto Kirribilli
Marist College North Shore
Marist Sisters Woolwich
Meriden School
Newington College
North Sydney Girls High School
Oakhill College, Castle Hill
Our Lady of Mercy College Parramatta
Oxley College
Pittwater High School
Prairiewood High School
Queenwood School
Ravenswoood School for Girls Gordon 2072
Rise & Shine Kindergarten Carlton
Rosebank College
Santa Sabina College
St Francis Xavier’s Primary School Croydon Park
St Ignatius College
St Joseph’s College
St Leo’s College/Catholic Schools Broken Bay
St Mary’s Cathedral College
St Patrick’s College Strathfield
St Ursula’s
Stanmore Public School
Sydney Boys HS
Sydney Girls HS
Telopea Park School
The Kings School
TIGS, Wollongong
Tyndale Christian School
University of Sydney
William Clarke College
Woodcroft College
Woollahra Public School
Wyvern House Prep, Newington College